Retired employees of Grameen Bank to get pension facilities

Staff Correspondent,, Dhaka
Photo: collected

Photo: collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

At last fortune is going to smile on the fate of the retired officers and employees of Grameen Bank. The retired officers and employees of Grameen Bank have been demanding the facilities of pension allowance, festival bonus, and monthly medical allowance including other facilities for a long time. But the Bank authority put a deaf ear to their demands. The authority to the contrary treated them ruthlessly to stop their movement.

At last the leaders of the retired officers and employees sought the help of the parliamentary standing committee on the Ministry of Finance.

In the afternoon of Sunday (July 28) the leaders of the movement attended in the meeting of parliamentary standing committee held in the Sangsad Bhavan. After hearing from the leaders, the standing committee sent recommendations to the ministry to solve the matter. In the meeting Finance Minister AHM Mostofa Kamal assured the representatives of the retired leaders to look into the matter with utmost importance.

Standing Committee member Abdus Sahaid told that we heard them. We asked the ministry to give a justified solution after considering the legal aspects. We cannot give any decision without recommendations. As Grameen Bank is semi-autonomous organization so we are to do that according to rules.

Speaking about the matter the president of the retired officers and employee’s welfare association Md. Shamsul Arefin told that we have been carrying on our movement for a long time. Today we have placed our demands to the parliamentary standing committee. The Minister has assured us that he would look into the matter with importance and told us not to wage movement, we would see it.

Earlier on last February 19, in a notification of the finance ministry signed by deputy secretary Murshed Zaman it was said that the organization is run by Grameen Bank Ordinance 1983 XLVI. In this case the management committee of the bank can take decision according to rules.

The parliamentary standing committee meeting chaired by committee president Abul Hassan Mahmud Ali and was attended by Finance Minister AHM Mostofa Kamal, Md. Abdus Shahid, Mostafizur Rahman Chowdhury, Abul Kalam Md. Ahsanul Haque Chowdhury, Ahmed Feroz Kabir, Rumana Ali and Rana Mohammad Sohel.

Senior Secretary of Finance Ministry, Secretary, Deputy Governor of Bangladesh Bank and other senior officers of the ministry and concerned officers of the Jatiyo Sangsad Secretariat were present in the meeting.