England need 224 to reach final

Sports Desk, Barta24.com
Australia scored 223-run losing all wickets in the second semi-final.Photo: Collected

Australia scored 223-run losing all wickets in the second semi-final.Photo: Collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

England encircled Australia within 223 runs and bagged all wickets in a suburb bowling effort in the second semi-final of ICC World Cup 2019 at with at at Edgbaston.

Smith struck 85 off 119 balls to maintain his immaculate record in knockout World Cup games.

Pressure on the bowlers to defend total after Steve Smith's 85 and a gutsy knock from Alex Carey helped Australia set a defendable target for England.

Australia captain Aaron Finch's decision to bat appeared to backfire with Chris Woakes and Jofra Archer blowing away the Australian top order.

Archer figuratively drew first blood with his first delivery to dismiss Finch before leaving Carey with an actual bloodied chin.

Woakes removed David Warner, Australia's leading scorer in the tournament, for nine and bowled Peter Handscomb who was making his World Cup debut as replacement for the injured Usman Khawaja.

Archer bowled with hostility, hitting a hopping Carey on the grill of his helmet and dislodging it from his head.

Carey braved the blow to join Smith in their dogged bid to arrest the free-fall and Australia reached the 100-mark in the 25th over before their middle order caved in.

Adil Rashid claimed 3-54, including the wickets of Carey and Marcus Stoinis, and Archer sent back Glenn Maxwell, who scored at a run-a-ball for his 22 before being deceived by a slower ball.

England haven't won a knockout World Cup game since 1992, but the world's No.1 ranked ODI side will be confident of chasing down 224 on a fast, bouncy Edgbaston surface.


Australia XI: David Warner, Aaron Finch (c), Steven Smith, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon.

England XI: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jofra Archer, Mark Wood.