England require 242 to win the World Cup

Sports Desk, Barta24.com
Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

Three wickets for Chris Woakes and Liam Plunkett helped to restrict New Zealand after they opted to bat first in the World Cup Final.

New Zealand were going well with the partnership between Kane Williamson and Henry Nicholls before Liam Plunkett again proved his worth in those middle overs.

Once he triggered the slide, there was hardly any upswing in fortunes for the Black Caps whose failure to get on with things was typefied by de Grandhomme's wretched stay at the crease. Still, 241 is a handy score in a World Cup final.

New Zealand have won the toss and elected to bat first in the World Cup final against England at Lord's, where both teams will be looking to win the tournament for the first time.


England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jofra Archer, Mark Wood

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), Jimmy Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult