Three US, UK scientists share Nobel Prize for medicine

International Desk,
Photo: collected

Photo: collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

Three scientists – two from the United States and one from the United Kingdom– have shared 2019 Nobel Prize Medicine, according to an announcement of the award-giving body.

The Nobel Assembly at Sweden’s Karolinska Institute confirmed their winning of the prize in a post on the institute verified Twitter page on Monday morning local time.

It said in the statement that William Kaelin and Peter Ratcliffe of the US and Gregg Semenza of the UK won the prize for discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to the availability of oxygen.

“The seminal discoveries by this year’s Nobel laureates revealed the mechanism for one of life’s most essential adaptive processes,” it said in the statement on awarding the prize of 9 million Swedish crowns ($913,000).