Six arsonists of the bus torching incidents identified

Staff Correspondent,
Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

Six people have been identified for setting fire to buses parked at Paltan and Motijheel in the capital on the day of Dhaka-18 by-election. All three of them are BNP leaders.

They are Kazi Rezaul Haque Babu alias Jim Babu, former leader of Paltan Thana Chhatra Dal, Leon Haque and Imtiaz, members of Paltan Thana Juba Dal. The three were identified by reviewing footage from nearby CCTV cameras. Besides, three more people including them have been identified in the incident, said the Metropolitan Detective Police (DB).

The DB Motijheel Division informed about the identification of the arsonist on Friday (November 20) night.

Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) Motijheel Zone Deputy Commissioner of Intelligence. Asaduzzaman said, ‘Some of those who set the bus on fire directly have been identified by analyzing CCTV and video footage. Meanwhile, three people have been identified in the incident of setting fire to a bus opposite the BNP office those who have been seen in the procession for the BNP. The whole thing will be clear if we can arrest them. The operation to arrest other fugitives is also underway.

It may be mentioned that miscreants set fire to at least 9 buses in different parts of the capital on the day of Dhaka-18 by-election. Police have registered 18 cases in Paltan, Motijheel, Bimanbandar, Uttara East, Shahabagh, Bhatara, Kalabagan, Turag, Khilkhet, Mohammadpur, Sutrapur and Bangshal police stations. So far 48 people have been arrested in these cases.