NIC thanks PM for extending duration of Mujib Borsho

Staff Correspondent,
Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

The National Implementation Committee(NIC) has thanked Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina for extending the duration of Mujib Borsho, the birth cemetery Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

The motion of thanks was unanimously adopted at a meeting of the National Implementation Committee held on the Zoom online platform on Wednesday afternoon. Chief Coordinator of National Implementation Committee Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury conducted the meeting which was chaired by National Professor Dr. Rafiqul Islam.

At the meeting, the members thanked the Prime Minister and said that the extension of time has created an opportunity to complete the programs adopted in the Mujib Borsho. Taking advantage of this opportunity to celebrate Mujib Borsho properly, various aspects of implementation of all programs were discussed in detail in the meeting.

It may be mentioned that in order to celebrate the birth centenary of the great architect of independent Bangladesh, Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the government declared the period from 17 March 2020 to 26 March 2021 as Mujib Borsho. Due to Covid-19 global pandemic, the programs undertaken to celebrate the Mujib Borsho could not be completed on time. That is why the government, through the Cabinet Division, has issued a notification announcing the extension of the Mujib Borsho period from 17 March 2020 to 16 December 2021.

Among others, former minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith, home minister Asaduzzaman Khan, information minister Mohammad Hassan Mahmud, education minister Dipu Moni, Textile and Jute Minister Golam Dastagir Gazi, State Minister for Foreign Affairs. Shahriar Alam, State Minister for Information and Communication Technology Junaid Ahmed Palak, State Minister for Public Administration Farhad Hossain, Deputy Minister for Education Mahibul Hasan Chowdhury, Bangladesh Awami Juba League Chairman Sheikh Fazle Shams Parash, Principal Staff Officer of the Armed Forces Lieutenant General Waqar-uz-Zaman, SGP, PSC, Senior Secretary of the Division of Public Security Mustafa Kamal Uddin, Secretary of the Ministry of Housing and Public Works Shahid Ullah Khandaker, Secretary of the Ministry of Women and Children Affairs Kazi Raushan Akter, Secretary of the Ministry of Liberation War Affairs Tapan Kanti Ghosh, Secretary of the Division of Secondary and Higher Education Mahbub Hossain, Secretary of the Ministry of Information Khwaja Mia, Additional Inspector General of Bangladesh Police Dr. Md. Moinur Rahman Chowdhury, Director General of Bangladesh Television S. M. Harun-ur-Rashid, Mohammad Shamim Akhter, Chief Engineer, Public Works Department, Sheikh Rafiqul Islam, Additional Secretary, Cabinet Division, Satyajit Karmakar, Additional Secretary, Finance Department, Anis Mahmud, Director General, Islamic Foundation, Habibullah Siraji, Director General, Bangla Academy, Managing Director, Channel I Journalist Syed Badrul Ahsan, musician Rezwana Chowdhury Bonya, FBCCI vice-president Siddiqur Rahman, poet Tariq Sujat, story writer Anisul Haque, musician Sajeed Akbar, journalist Subhash Singh Roy and officials of the National Implementation Committee office participated.