PM hands over Independence Award-2021

Staff Correspondent,, Dhaka
photo Collected

photo Collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina handed over Independence Award-2021 (Swadhinata Purashkar-2021), the highest national award of the country to nine distinguished persons and a research organization.

Sheikh Hasina attended the award giving ceremony at her official residence Ganabhaban in the capital on Thursday (May 20).

AKM Bazlur Rahman, Shaheed Ahsanullah Master, Freedom Fighter Brigadier General Khurshid Uddin Ahmed, and Akhtaruzzaman Chowdhury Babu were given this award posthumously for their contributions to independence and the War of Liberation.

Dr Mrinmoy Guha Neogi received this highest state award for his contributions to science and technology while Mohadeb Saha for literature, Ataur Rahman and Gazi Mazharul Anwar for culture, and Professor Dr M Amjad Hossain for social works.

Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council  (BARC) also received the award in the research and training category. 

Each award recipient received a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque of honorarium from the Prime Minister.

Since 1977, Bangladesh has honored individuals and institutions with the award every year.