Awami League picks Rezaul for Chattogram City while Mahiuddin for Dhaka-10

Staff Correspondent,,Dhaka
Awami League/ Photo: collected.

Awami League/ Photo: collected.

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

Awami League on Saturday (Feb.15) picked Rezaul Karim Chowdhury, joint general secretary of Chattogram city unit of the party, to contest the Chittagong City Corporation (CCC) mayoral election.

The ruling party also nominated former President of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI) Md Shafiul Islam (Mohiuddin) for the by-polls to Dhaka-10 constituency.

Besides, Umme Kulsum Smrity has been chosen for Gaibandha-3 by-election while Shahin Chakladar for Jashore-6, Amirul Islam Milon for Bagerhat-4 and Sahadara Mannan for Bogura-1 by-polls.

The decisions were taken at a joint meeting of AL Parliamentary Board (ALPB) and AL Local Government Nomination Board meeting.

AL President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina chaired the meeting held at her official residence Ganobhaban.

By-elections to Gaibandha-3, Bagerhat-4 and Dhaka-10 constituencies will be held on March 21.

As per the schedules announced by the Election Commission on February 6, the deadline for the submission of nomination paper is February 19, while the date for scrutinizing the nomination papers is February 23 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidacy is February 29.

The Commission is likely to announce the polls schedules for the CCC election, and Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 parliamentary by-polls on Sunday.

The Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 constituencies fell vacant following the death of Awami League MPs Dr M Eunus Ali Sarkar and Dr Mozammel Hossain.

The Dhaka-10 fell vacant as AL MP Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh resigned on December 29 to contest the Dhaka South City Corporation election.

The Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 constituencies fell vacant following the death of AL MPs Abdul Mannan and Ismat Ara Sadique.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader announced the decisions after a meeting of the party’s parliamentary and local government elections nomination board at Hasina’s official residence the Ganabhaban in Dhaka.

আপনার মতামত লিখুন :