Friday, 06 December 2019, 11:30AM


Rumin Farhana of BNP takes oath as MP


Senior Correspondent,, Dhaka | 9 June 2019, 01:44PM

Rumin Farhana of BNP takes oath as MP
Rumin Farhana took oath, Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury administered the oath, Photo:

Barrister Rumin Farhana, BNP nominated MP for the reserved women seats of Jatiyo Sangsad(JS) took her oath of office as MP of the 11th Jatiyo Sangsad on Sunday(June 9) at the office of the speaker. Speaker of JS Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury administered the oath.

BNP got only one seat in the reserved quota according to the number of their representation in the JS. Earlier BNP’s five other members took oath as MP. Only BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take oath that led to vacant of the Bogura seat where by-election is going to be held. BNP is getting six member parliamentary group in the JS from the ensuing budget session.

In the oath taking function JS chief Whip Nur e Alam Chowdhury Liton MP, Whip Ikbalur Rahim MP, Whip Abu Sayed Al Mahmud Swapan MP and Captain(Rtd) AB Tazul Islam MP were present.

After oath taking Barrister Rumin Farhana as system signed the oath book kept in the JS. JS secretariat senior secretary Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath function.