Budget session begins from Wednesday

news desk, barta24.com
Photo: barta24.com

Photo: barta24.com

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

The second budget session of the current Jatiyo Sangsad (JS) is beginning from Wednesday (June 10). The session will begin with Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury in the chair at 5 PM.

Health protection has been strengthened ahead of the session. Elderly and sick MPs have been advised not to attend the session. According to a source of the Jatiyo Sangsad that while there was a risk in the corona situation; strict precautions were being taken to deal with it. All necessary steps have already been taken to ensure that no MP is infected afresh from the budget session. The source also said that elderly and sick MPs have been requested not to attend the session. Because of corona caution, the eighth (budget) session of JS has been shortened.

On the first day, the activities will end by placing the ordinances and accepting the condolence motions to get passed. As per custom, the session will be adjourned after the discussion on the condolence motion on the death of the current Member of JS Habibur Rahman Mollah.

The next day, on June 11, Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal will place the budget proposal for the fiscal year 2020-21. The proposed budget will be discussed for just five days. And the whole budget will be spent in the process of passing ten days. In that case a maximum of 20 hours of budget discussion can take place. There were about 60 hours of discussion last year. This discussion will continue every day from 10:30 am to 1:30 pm.

The money bill will be passed on June 29 and the main budget on June 30. In just 12 working days, the shortest budget session in the history of the country may end on July 9.

Officials of the Parliament Secretariat said that due to the corona situation, the meeting of the Parliamentary Advisory Committee is not being held before this session. Earlier, due to constitutional constraints, the working advisory committee did not meet even before the seventh sitting of the one-day parliament on April 16. And special initiative has been taken to keep the attendance in the Parliament session among 90 people.

Meanwhile, strict restrictions have been imposed ahead of the session. Every year on the day of budget presentation, diplomats of different countries, important personalities of the state were present but no one was invited this time. Entry of the journalists has been suspended. Moreover, the presence of the officers and employees of the Parliament Secretariat to conduct the session has also been restricted. Only those who will be needed they will only come. Those who would attend the session must have certificates of negative result.

Concerned people said that the arrangement of seats in the parliament has also been changed to prevent corona infection. In that case, several seats around the Prime Minister will be left vacant.

Everyone has been asked to wear a mask. In addition, everyone has to enter through the disinfection chamber placed inside the tunnel. Meanwhile, 8 MPs have already been attacked by Corona.

Jessore-4 (Bagharpara-Abhaynagar) MP Ranjit Kumar Roy has been infected with corona virus very recently. He was admitted to the isolation ward of Jashore Combined Military Hospital (CMH) on Monday night after he tested positive for corona. Earlier, as tested positive, Bir Bahadur Ushaising, a Member of Parliament from Bandarban constituency and Minister in charge of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs, was brought to CMH from Bandarban by helicopter.

Among the corona victims, Sirajganj-1 MP and former health minister Mohammad Nasim is still in critical condition. He was admitted to Bangladesh Specialized Hospital on June 1 with pneumonia. However, the first MP infected by corona was Shahiduzzaman Sarkar of Naogaon-2 seat who has recovered. Besides, Ebadul Karim Bulbul of Brahmanbaria-5 constituency, ABM Fazle Karim Chowdhury of Chittagong-6 constituency, Faridul Haque Khan Dulal of Jamalpur-2 constituency and Mostafizur Rahman Chowdhury of Chittagong-16 (Banshkhali) constituency were also infected.