Three scientists get Nobel Prize for physics

International Desk,
photo: collected

photo: collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

Three scientists – two from Switzerland and one from the United States – have been awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics for ‘ground-breaking’ discoveries about the Universe, according to an announcement of the award-giving body.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Science confirmed their winning of the prize in a post on the institute verified Twitter page on Tuesday morning local time.

It said in the statement that Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz of Switzerland and James Peebles of the United States were announced as this year's winners at a ceremony in Stockholm.

They have been jointly awarded the prize for work on the evolution of the Universe and the discovery of a distant planet around a Sun-like star in 1995.

Earlier three scientists – William Kaelin and Peter Ratcliffe of the US and Gregg Semenza of the UK – won 2019 Nobel Prize in Medicine for discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to the availability of oxygen.

আপনার মতামত লিখুন :