Now Kiran is the Mayor of Gazipur  

Staff Correspondent,, Dhaka
ছবি: সংগৃহীত

ছবি: সংগৃহীত

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

Gazipur City Corporation Mayor Jahangir Alam who was expelled from the Awami League for insulting Bangabandhu has also been suspended by the Ministry of Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives. At the same time, Ward No. 43 Councilor Asadur Rahman Kiran has been nominated as the acting mayor.

Local government minister Tajul Islam at a press briefing at his office on Thursday (November 25) informed about his suspension. Later, the local government department issued a notification dismissing Jahangir Alam.

It said, “Gazipur City Corporation Mayor Mohammad Jahangir Alam has been accused of fraudulent tenders, RFQs, recruitment of unreasonable manpower in various posts, embezzlement of money through fake bill vouchers on the occasion of World Ijtema and by showing the same work in various projects. Various allegations have been raised including non-deposit. The city corporation has not yet commented on the allegations.

The notification further said, "These allegations include misuse of power, illegal activities, corruption and intentional mismanagement which are removable offenses under Section 13 (1) (d) of the Corporation Act." With the commencement of the investigation of these allegations, the removal process has been started as per Section 13 of the City Corporation Act, 2009. Therefore, in accordance with Section 12 (1) of the City Corporation Act, Jahangir Alam was suspended from the post of Mayor of Gazipur City Corporation in the interest of conducting a proper investigation.

Another order of the local government division formed a three-member mayoral panel. The panel was constituted of three councilors of the City Corporation in accordance with the provisions of Section 20 (2) of the Local Government (City Corporation) Act, 2009.

Nominated Mayor in the panel is Ward Councilor No. 43 Asadur Rahman Kiran, Ward Councilor No. 52 Md. Abdul Alim Mollah and Mosa. Ayesha Akhtar, the councilor of the No. 10 reserved ward.